HS Testing Schedule

PSAT/NMSQT (October 13) 
The Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) is an optional standardized test offered by the school district and administered by the College Board and cosponsored by the Nation Merit Scholarship Corporation to students in grades 10-11. This standardized test provides firsthand practice for the SAT Reasoning Test.  Scores from the PSAT are used to select the top students nationwide to compete for scholarships through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation scholarship programs. This nationally standardized test allows students to compare their performance with other college bound students.  This test measures critical reading skills, math problem solving skills, and writing skills and provides the opportunity for students to experience a college entrance test in a practice setting.  Following the test, students receive feedback about their performance on these critical academic skills.  Students also have the opportunity to receive information from colleges. 

ACT plus Writing (April 2) 
The ACT is the leading US college admissions test, measuring what you learn in high school to determine your academic readiness for college. The ACT plus Writing is offered to all 11th grade students and 12th grade students that have not been offered the test previously. Four skill areas are covered in the test: English, mathematics, reading, and science. The writing portion of the test measures skill in planning and writing a short essay.

MCA Test (March 18-22 Science, April 8-12 Reading, April 15-19 Math) 
The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment test is the state determined test used in schools to measure student achievement in the areas of reading, math, and science. Students in the 10th grade will State tests are given to students in a district once a year, based on their grade level and subject area. These tests help districts measure student progress toward Minnesota’s academic standards and also meet federal and state legislative requirements. 

MTAS (March 4 – May 3)
The Minnesota Test of Academic Skills is an alternate assessment for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. It is a performance-based assessment administered and scored by the test administrator using a script and a task-specific scoring rubric. The MTAS is used to measure student progress toward Minnesota’s academic standards and meet the requirements of the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). MTAS Reading is given to students in grade 10. MTAS Math is given to students in grade 11. MTAS Science is given to students currently in a Life Science class. Test administration times will vary for each student, and the state does not provide estimated test administration times for the MTAS. Results will be mailed home in late August or early September.

Advanced Placement Exams (May 6-17)

Student Exam Fee Required – please see your counselor with questions.